• Symbols
  • Crystals
  • Healing
  • Chakras
  • Guidance
  • Practice
  • Spirituality
  • News

The 7 Major Chakras And Their Meanings - An Ultimate Guide


According to some spiritual beliefs, our body is more than physical and mental; it is also an energetic system comprised of chakras. In this article, we will go through the 7 major chakras and their meanings.

Chakra is a Sanskrit term that literally translates as "wheel" or "cycle." Seven major chakras are located along the spine, from the base to the crown of the skull. This ancient notion has become ingrained in a number of New Age schools of thought.

Chakras are believed to give subtle energy that assists your organs, mind, and intellect in functioning optimally. While chakras and spiritual energy have not been properly studied in medical studies, they may help you think about your own mind and body.

What Are The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean?

An illustration of a meditating human pointing the location of the 7 major chakras
An illustration of a meditating human pointing the location of the 7 major chakras

The Root Chakra - Muladhara

The root chakra, referred to in Sanskrit as Muladhara, is the first and primary chakra, believed to be positioned at the base of the spine. It is associated with the element earth and the color red.

The root chakra is believed to influence how you interact with the world and to regulate your sentiments of survival, ambition, dependency, and stability. Because it is the primary source of energy, its imbalance can cause profound anxiety and uncertainty, undermining your motivation to achieve and resulting in feelings of frustration and purposelessness.

When the root chakra is balanced, it is said that feelings of stability, happiness, energy, independence, and strength are generated.

The Sacral Chakra - Svadhishthana

The svadhisthana chakra, located beneath the navel, emanates an orange hue and represents the element of water. Sexuality, creativity, intuition, self-worth, compassion, and flexibility are all attributed to the sacral chakra. When the sacral chakra is unstable, emotional outbursts, a lack of creativity, and sex - obsessed thoughts are believed to occur.

The Solar Plexus Chakra - Manipura

The solar plexus chakra is known in Sanskrit as Manipura, which translates as "city of jewels." It is said to be located between the ribs and the navel. It is yellow in color and is associated with the fire element.

The solar plexus chakra, according to those who believe in chakras, is the seat of self-esteem and emotions such as ego, rage, and aggression. It is believed to manifest physically as digestive difficulties, liver problems, or diabetes. On an emotional level, it is claimed that an unbalanced solar plexus chakra results in feelings of despair and low self-esteem. When it is balanced, it becomes an energy source, a source of productivity, and a source of confidence.

The Heart Chakra - Anahata

The heart chakra, which is connected to organs such as the heart and lungs, is said to be located at the center of the cardiovascular system. The heart chakra is the link between the lower and higher chakras. It is green in color and is composed of the element air.

The heart chakra is said to be connected to compassion, trust, passion, and self-and other-love. When the Anahata Chakra is out of balance, anger, lack of trust, anxiety, jealousy, fear, and moodiness are considered to occur. An overactive heart chakra is said to be associated with high blood pressure, heart palpitations, and cardiovascular disorders.

The Throat Chakra - Vishuddha

The throat chakra, Vishuddha, is said to regulate the neck, mouth, tongue, and other areas of the throat area. The throat chakra is blue in color and ether in element. Self-expression, communication, and confidence are all associated with the throat chakra. Balancing the throat chakra is considered to regulate the passage of hormones and aid in the positive expression of inner thoughts.

The Third Eye Chakra - Ajna

Between the brows is where the third eye, or Ajna chakra, is located. The third eye is not associated with any element but is symbolized by the color indigo. The third eye chakra, which is frequently utilized as a focal point in asana practice, is said to govern your intellect, intuition, knowledge, and spiritual strength.

According to this belief system, having an open and balanced third eye chakra enables you to perceive connections within and beyond this world.

A third eye chakra that is inactive is said to appear as a headache, migraine, or blurred vision. When balanced, it is claimed that the third eye will liberate you from earthly ties.

The Crown Chakra - Sahastrara

The crown chakra, Sahastrara, is located at the crown of the head and is the highest of the seven major chakras. Violet, or white, is the color of the crown chakra. Additionally referred to as the "thousand petal lotus" chakra, this is the most spiritual of the seven core chakras.

Since the crown chakra is the seat of spirituality, enlightenment, and energetic thinking, it is claimed that opening it connects a person to their higher self. It is connected to intuition and the cosmos. When the crown chakra is out of balance, despair, separation from the external world, frustration, and destructive emotions are believed to be influenced.

How Do You Heal Your Chakras?

How do you clear or heal a chakra? According to Malaspina, one of the best ways to maintain chakra balance is to align your physical body through yoga postures. Breathing exercises to promote energy flow

The Bottom Line

For many, spirituality can be a valuable tool. While some individuals may find this belief system beneficial in gaining insight about their lifestyles, it is critical to maintain all channels of assistance available. Consult a health care provider if you are experiencing difficulties with your mental or physical health.

If the above breakdown of the 7 major chakras and their meanings piques your curiosity, you can learn about chakra balancing and realignment. This can include yoga, meditation, chakra clearing, various forms of bodywork, and even music.

Share: Twitter|Facebook|Linkedin

Featured Articles

Recent Articles